Automatic cleanup isn't working
The Automatic Cleanup feature only works with downloaded episodes.
It means that it will only delete downloaded episodes based on your settings.
If you want to remove an episode entry, you will have to mark it has 'played'. Also make sure that played content is hidden using the toolbar 'eye' button.
Episodes can be marked as played automatically once they have been listened to (Settings/Automatic cleanup/After playback).